Technical Committee

Terms of Reference


The Technical Committee will make decisions, recommend action, and oversee activities that enable the realization of the following objectives:

  • Sustainability of PKP software
  • Positioning of PKP software as useful for scholar-led, independent publishing
  • Emphasizing the open and collaborative character of PKP software
    • Built on free/libre ethical principles
    • Built via inclusive and collaborative community effort
    • Built towards shared knowledge as a public good

Roles and Responsibilities

  • Provide technical input and advice on PKP’s software development methodologies and priorities
  • Undertake specific technical assignments on behalf of PKP
  • Monitor and support the development and release progress of PKP software
  • Recommend technical priorities to PKP and to the Advisory Committee
  • Track the latest discussions and current state of scientific publishing in order to align PKP products with emerging ideas


  • Up to one (1) representative from each of the Major Partners
  • One (1) or more representatives from the PKP Software Development and Support Team (ex officio)
  • Up to three (3) members from the Members Committee
  • Discretion to appoint up to three (3) members from the community or Strategic Partners
  • Discretion to invite other staff or community members to participate for specific topics

Current Members

  • Marc Bria (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
  • Sonya Betz (Chair, University of Alberta)
  • Clinton Graham (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Ronald Steffen (Free University Berlin)
  • James MacGregor (PKP)
  • Alex Mendonça (SciELO)
  • Antti-Jussi Nygård (at-large member)
  • Alec Smecher (PKP)
  • Marco Tullney (at-large member)
  • Dulip Withanage (Heidelberg University)