Using DOI's with OJS

Are you responsible for making OJS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, btbell, michael, bdgregg, barbarah, asmecher

Forum rules
The Public Knowledge Project Support Forum is moving to http://forum.pkp.sfu.ca

This forum will be maintained permanently as an archived historical resource, but all new questions should be added to the new forum. Questions will no longer be monitored on this old forum after March 30, 2015.
Tadas
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:02 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby Tadas » Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:57 pm

Thank for response jalperin.

In the journal setup 1.1 I check "Use the "Custom Identifier" for published items as the DOI suffix (must be enabled in Step 4).", then in the step 4.3 I check "Custom identifiers will be used to identify published items.". But I still can't enter DOI nowhere...

jalperin
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby jalperin » Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:15 am

You don't have to enter the DOI anywhere. In the metadata, when the DOI is displayed, the custom identifier will be shown.

Oh, and the custom identifier for the article can be set from the Table of Contents of the issue.

Now that I write that all out, it doesn't seem very intuitive at all...

Tadas
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:02 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby Tadas » Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:33 am

Works!Thanks a lot!

marchitelli
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby marchitelli » Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:02 am

Hi,
I tried to validate the OAI-PMH of a journal for DRIVER specfications, using BASE repositroy validator: http://oval.base-search.net/oval/validate
I got this error
ERROR: ListRecords response well-formed but invalid: Element '{http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/}identifier', attribute '{http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance}type': The QName value 'dcterms:DOI' has no corresponding namespace declaration in scope., line 42


I think that it is because DOI is correctly mapped to dc:identifier but it presents a qualifier, not admitted in oai_dc format:

Code: Select all

<dc:identifier xsi:type="dcterms:DOI">10.4403/jlis.it-36</dc:identifier>


How is it possible to modify, removing the qualification?

Thanks,
Andrea

asmecher
Posts: 10015
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby asmecher » Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:37 pm

Hi Andrea,

Try the patch at http://pkp.sfu.ca/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=6811 to remove the qualification.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

darcxy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:20 pm

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby darcxy » Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:07 pm

doi_set_up1.1.png
doi_set_up1.1.png (17.99 KiB) Viewed 1702 times
doi_set_up1.1.png
doi_set_up1.1.png (17.99 KiB) Viewed 1702 times
setup4.3_management.png
setup4.3_management.png (26.49 KiB) Viewed 1702 times
jalperin wrote:You don't have to enter the DOI anywhere. In the metadata, when the DOI is displayed, the custom identifier will be shown.

Oh, and the custom identifier for the article can be set from the Table of Contents of the issue.

Now that I write that all out, it doesn't seem very intuitive at all...


Hi to all,

I have same problem on this DOI.
I upload my attachment file here.

My Problem is I can not view the DOI in my Table of Contents.

Anyone can have help me?

Garant
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 8:53 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby Garant » Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:31 pm

Hi all!
Just wondering is there an option to apply DOI to issue? How to set the DOI to articles - I've solved.
Thank you!

swing
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:59 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby swing » Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:52 pm

Hi Garant,

Yes, in the latest stable release OJS 2.4.2 there is the possibility to assign DOIs to issues. The DOI functionality moved from the journal management setup 1 to a plug-in (Journal Management > System Plugins > Public Identifier Plugins > DOI).
You can find the documentation here: http://pkp.sfu.ca/wiki/index.php/DOIPlu ... umentation (Chapter 3 Assigning DOIs to Publication Objects). If there are some further questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Best
Bozana Bokan

Garant
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 8:53 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby Garant » Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:11 pm

Hi, swing!
Thank you for your reply!

digital
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby digital » Fri Sep 20, 2013 12:27 pm

swing wrote:Yes, in the latest stable release OJS 2.4.2 there is the possibility to assign DOIs to issues. The DOI functionality moved from the journal management setup 1 to a plug-in (Journal Management > System Plugins > Public Identifier Plugins > DOI).

I don't have Issues checked (only Articles) in DOI Plugin Settings->Journal Content (Please select the publishing objects that will have Digital Object Identifiers (DOI) assigned), but when I use CrossRef XML Export Plugin to export data, the following is added before every <journal_article>:

<doi_data>
<doi/>
<resource>http://.../ojs/index.php/lituanistica/issue/view/254</resource>
</doi_data>

doi.crossref.org does not allow to upload metadata with the following error:

<record_diagnostic status="Failure">
<doi />
<msg>org.crossref.common.xml.MalformedXmlException: Error: cvc-minLength-valid: Value '' with length = '0' is not facet-valid with respect to minLength '6' for type '#AnonType_doi'.
Error: cvc-type.3.1.3: The value '' of element 'doi' is not valid.
</msg>
</record_diagnostic>

It accepts metadata when I delete the above added data.

asmecher
Posts: 10015
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby asmecher » Fri Sep 20, 2013 12:41 pm

Hi digital,

Are those unpublished articles? It looks like they don't have DOIs assigned to them yet.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

digital
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby digital » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:22 pm

Articles are published. Crossref export looks like this:

<journal>
<journal_metadata>
...
</journal_metadata>
<journal_issue>
<publication_date media_type="online">
...
</publication_date>
<journal_volume>
<volume>59</volume>
</journal_volume>
<issue>2</issue>
<doi_data>
<doi/>
<resource>http://.../ojs/index.php/lituanistica/issue/view/254</resource>
</doi_data>
</journal_issue>
<journal_article publication_type="full_text">
<titles>
<title>........</title>
</titles>
<contributors>
...
</contributors>
<publication_date media_type="online">
...
</publication_date>
<doi_data>
<doi>10.6xxx/lituanistica.v59i2.2683</doi>
<resource>http://.../ojs/index.php/lituanistica/article/view/2683</resource>
</doi_data>
</journal_article>

asmecher
Posts: 10015
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby asmecher » Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:11 pm

Hi digital,

Have a look at http://pkp.sfu.ca/wiki/index.php/DOIPluginsDocumentation#When_are_DOIs_being_assigned.3F_.28Important_-_Please_Read.21.29. It looks to me like your issues don't have DOIs assigned -- see the empty <doi/> nodes -- so I'd suggest reviewing your DOI configuration for issues and viewing the issue via the public interface to trigger DOI assignment.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

digital
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby digital » Thu Sep 26, 2013 5:14 pm

As I told in a previous message - "I don't have Issues checked (only Articles) in DOI Plugin Settings->Journal Content (Please select the publishing objects that will have Digital Object Identifiers (DOI) assigned)". So yes, my issues don't have DOIs assigned, that's the problem. Only articles have DOIs assigned, and I want my crossref export file to have DOIs for articles only (not issues!) too.

asmecher
Posts: 10015
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby asmecher » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:36 am

Hi digital,

Thanks, I understand now. That does sound like a bug. I've passed it along to one of our partner developers who has worked with that code.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team


Return to “OJS Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest