changing name in sidebar

Are you responsible for making OCS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, michael, John

Forum rules
The Public Knowledge Project Support Forum is moving to http://forum.pkp.sfu.ca

This forum will be maintained permanently as an archived historical resource, but all new questions should be added to the new forum. Questions will no longer be monitored on this old forum after March 30, 2015.
ozgur
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:37 pm

changing name in sidebar

Postby ozgur » Sat Mar 15, 2008 6:34 pm

Hi! I have a small problem. I want to change the "Cooperating Organizations & Sponsors" title as "Cooperating Organizations" in the sidebar.

I modified sidebar.tpl as

<li>&#187; <a href="{url page="about" op="cooperateAndSponsor"}">{translate key="about.sponsors"}</a></li>

and deleted part for about.contributors

I changed locale.xml as

<message key="about.sponsors">Cooperating Organizations</message>
<message key="about.contributors"> </message>

But I now see the title as ""Cooperating Organizations &"

How can I delete "&" in the title?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

smiri
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 7:01 pm

Re: changing name in sidebar

Postby smiri » Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:50 pm

Hi ozgur,

what version of OCS are you using?

Thanks,

ozgur
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:37 pm

Re: changing name in sidebar

Postby ozgur » Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:02 am

Hi Siavash,

I am using OCS 2.0.

jmacgreg
Posts: 4191
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: changing name in sidebar

Postby jmacgreg » Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:31 am

Hi ozgur,

Can you PM or email me with your sidebar.tpl and locale.xml attached?

Thanks,
James

jmacgreg
Posts: 4191
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: changing name in sidebar

Postby jmacgreg » Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:01 pm

Hi Ozgur,

I received those files -- thanks. Can you make sure that the line you edited in sidebar.tpl does *not* have "&amp;" in it (as it does in the original file)? That's the HTML entity for the & sign. In other words, change

Code: Select all

         <li>&#187; <a href="{url page="about" op="cooperateAndSponsor"}">{translate key="about.sponsors"} &amp; {translate key="about.contributors"} </a></li>


To

Code: Select all

         <li>&#187; <a href="{url page="about" op="cooperateAndSponsor"}">{translate key="about.sponsors"}</a></li>


Cheers,
James


Return to “OCS Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest