OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



Using DOI's with OJS

Are you responsible for making OJS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, btbell, michael, bdgregg, barbarah, asmecher

Forum rules
What to do if you have a technical problem with OJS:

1. Search the forum. You can do this from the Advanced Search Page or from our Google Custom Search, which will search the entire PKP site. If you are encountering an error, we especially recommend searching the forum for said error.

2. Check the FAQ to see if your question or error has already been resolved.

3. Post a question, but please, only after trying the above two solutions. If it's a workflow or usability question you should probably post to the OJS Editorial Support and Discussion subforum; if you have a development question, try the OJS Development subforum.

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby Tadas » Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:57 pm

Thank for response jalperin.

In the journal setup 1.1 I check "Use the "Custom Identifier" for published items as the DOI suffix (must be enabled in Step 4).", then in the step 4.3 I check "Custom identifiers will be used to identify published items.". But I still can't enter DOI nowhere...
Tadas
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:02 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby jalperin » Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:15 am

You don't have to enter the DOI anywhere. In the metadata, when the DOI is displayed, the custom identifier will be shown.

Oh, and the custom identifier for the article can be set from the Table of Contents of the issue.

Now that I write that all out, it doesn't seem very intuitive at all...
jalperin
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: Buenos Aires

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby Tadas » Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:33 am

Works!Thanks a lot!
Tadas
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:02 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby marchitelli » Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:02 am

Hi,
I tried to validate the OAI-PMH of a journal for DRIVER specfications, using BASE repositroy validator: http://oval.base-search.net/oval/validate
I got this error
ERROR: ListRecords response well-formed but invalid: Element '{http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/}identifier', attribute '{http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance}type': The QName value 'dcterms:DOI' has no corresponding namespace declaration in scope., line 42


I think that it is because DOI is correctly mapped to dc:identifier but it presents a qualifier, not admitted in oai_dc format:
Code: Select all
<dc:identifier xsi:type="dcterms:DOI">10.4403/jlis.it-36</dc:identifier>


How is it possible to modify, removing the qualification?

Thanks,
Andrea
marchitelli
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 12:44 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby asmecher » Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:37 pm

Hi Andrea,

Try the patch at http://pkp.sfu.ca/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=6811 to remove the qualification.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9090
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby darcxy » Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:07 pm

doi_set_up1.1.png
doi_set_up1.1.png (17.99 KiB) Viewed 1120 times
doi_set_up1.1.png
doi_set_up1.1.png (17.99 KiB) Viewed 1120 times
setup4.3_management.png
setup4.3_management.png (26.49 KiB) Viewed 1120 times
jalperin wrote:You don't have to enter the DOI anywhere. In the metadata, when the DOI is displayed, the custom identifier will be shown.

Oh, and the custom identifier for the article can be set from the Table of Contents of the issue.

Now that I write that all out, it doesn't seem very intuitive at all...


Hi to all,

I have same problem on this DOI.
I upload my attachment file here.

My Problem is I can not view the DOI in my Table of Contents.

Anyone can have help me?
darcxy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:20 pm

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby Garant » Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:31 pm

Hi all!
Just wondering is there an option to apply DOI to issue? How to set the DOI to articles - I've solved.
Thank you!
Garant
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 8:53 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby swing » Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:52 pm

Hi Garant,

Yes, in the latest stable release OJS 2.4.2 there is the possibility to assign DOIs to issues. The DOI functionality moved from the journal management setup 1 to a plug-in (Journal Management > System Plugins > Public Identifier Plugins > DOI).
You can find the documentation here: http://pkp.sfu.ca/wiki/index.php/DOIPlu ... umentation (Chapter 3 Assigning DOIs to Publication Objects). If there are some further questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Best
Bozana Bokan
swing
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:59 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby Garant » Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:11 pm

Hi, swing!
Thank you for your reply!
Garant
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 8:53 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby digital » Fri Sep 20, 2013 12:27 pm

swing wrote:Yes, in the latest stable release OJS 2.4.2 there is the possibility to assign DOIs to issues. The DOI functionality moved from the journal management setup 1 to a plug-in (Journal Management > System Plugins > Public Identifier Plugins > DOI).

I don't have Issues checked (only Articles) in DOI Plugin Settings->Journal Content (Please select the publishing objects that will have Digital Object Identifiers (DOI) assigned), but when I use CrossRef XML Export Plugin to export data, the following is added before every <journal_article>:

<doi_data>
<doi/>
<resource>http://.../ojs/index.php/lituanistica/issue/view/254</resource>
</doi_data>

doi.crossref.org does not allow to upload metadata with the following error:

<record_diagnostic status="Failure">
<doi />
<msg>org.crossref.common.xml.MalformedXmlException: Error: cvc-minLength-valid: Value '' with length = '0' is not facet-valid with respect to minLength '6' for type '#AnonType_doi'.
Error: cvc-type.3.1.3: The value '' of element 'doi' is not valid.
</msg>
</record_diagnostic>

It accepts metadata when I delete the above added data.
digital
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby asmecher » Fri Sep 20, 2013 12:41 pm

Hi digital,

Are those unpublished articles? It looks like they don't have DOIs assigned to them yet.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9090
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby digital » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:22 pm

Articles are published. Crossref export looks like this:

<journal>
<journal_metadata>
...
</journal_metadata>
<journal_issue>
<publication_date media_type="online">
...
</publication_date>
<journal_volume>
<volume>59</volume>
</journal_volume>
<issue>2</issue>
<doi_data>
<doi/>
<resource>http://.../ojs/index.php/lituanistica/issue/view/254</resource>
</doi_data>
</journal_issue>
<journal_article publication_type="full_text">
<titles>
<title>........</title>
</titles>
<contributors>
...
</contributors>
<publication_date media_type="online">
...
</publication_date>
<doi_data>
<doi>10.6xxx/lituanistica.v59i2.2683</doi>
<resource>http://.../ojs/index.php/lituanistica/article/view/2683</resource>
</doi_data>
</journal_article>
digital
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby asmecher » Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:11 pm

Hi digital,

Have a look at http://pkp.sfu.ca/wiki/index.php/DOIPluginsDocumentation#When_are_DOIs_being_assigned.3F_.28Important_-_Please_Read.21.29. It looks to me like your issues don't have DOIs assigned -- see the empty <doi/> nodes -- so I'd suggest reviewing your DOI configuration for issues and viewing the issue via the public interface to trigger DOI assignment.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9090
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby digital » Thu Sep 26, 2013 5:14 pm

As I told in a previous message - "I don't have Issues checked (only Articles) in DOI Plugin Settings->Journal Content (Please select the publishing objects that will have Digital Object Identifiers (DOI) assigned)". So yes, my issues don't have DOIs assigned, that's the problem. Only articles have DOIs assigned, and I want my crossref export file to have DOIs for articles only (not issues!) too.
digital
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Using DOI's with OJS

Postby asmecher » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:36 am

Hi digital,

Thanks, I understand now. That does sound like a bug. I've passed it along to one of our partner developers who has worked with that code.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9090
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

PreviousNext

Return to OJS Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests