OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



Captcha?

Are you responsible for making OCS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, michael, John

Forum rules
The Public Knowledge Project Support Forum is moving to http://forum.pkp.sfu.ca

This forum will be maintained permanently as an archived historical resource, but all new questions should be added to the new forum. Questions will no longer be monitored on this old forum after March 30, 2015.

Captcha?

Postby tshore » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:42 pm

I don't have captcha? Here is what I have in config.inc.php:
Code: Select all
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Captcha Settings ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

[captcha]

; Whether or not to enable ReCaptcha
recaptcha = On

; Public key for reCaptcha (see http://www.google.com/recaptcha)
recaptcha_public_key = 6LfXIuUSAAAAAKsQ-tmCsYmeWzAlgmskR-B23Alh

; Private key for reCaptcha (see http://www.google.com/recaptcha)
recaptcha_private_key = 6LfXIuUSAAAAA...

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user registration / account creation
captcha_on_register = On

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user comments
captcha_on_comments = On

What else do I have to do to get captcha to appear on my user registration form?

http://www.prospectivememory.org/2014/

As a side note - I never use recaptcha on any of my websites. They're too long and often too difficult. Older people especially have a lot of trouble with them. It would be nice to have another option for OCS.
tshore
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

Re: Captcha?

Postby asmecher » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:57 pm

Hi Trudy,

Check your config.TEMPLATE.inc.php for sample configuration settings. You should use something like:
Code: Select all
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Captcha Settings ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

[captcha]

; Whether or not to enable Captcha features
captcha = on

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user registration / account creation
captcha_on_register = on

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user comments
captcha_on_comments = on

; Font location for font to use in Captcha images
font_location = /usr/share/fonts/truetype/freefont/FreeSerif.ttf


The configuration you quoted appears to be based on the git master branch, which supports recaptcha only; OCS 2.3.5 doesn't include that bit of refactoring. You'll need a PHP that supports GD and TTF (most do). You'll need to make sure that there's a font at the location specified in the config file.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 10015
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Captcha?

Postby tshore » Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:22 pm

That fixed it. Thank you. All I had to do was change the path slightly for the TTF file on my server:

font_location = /usr/share/fonts/freefont/FreeSerif.ttf
tshore
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Hamilton, Ontario


Return to OCS Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests