I tried searching but this is the most recent post related to our question.
Playing around with the merge users feature we came to realize the following, and want to know if it's the intended behavior.
When merging users with the Admin user, the roles are NOT assigned automatically, although the activities are.
We noticed this when we had a Section Editor, assigned to a section, removed the user by merging and added another Section Editor.
While the submissions to the section were not visible to the Section Editor (due to role security, as we understand it), because the submissions were assigned to a different section editor and cannot see the tasks from another.
When viewing as the Editor, the Admin is showing as the designated section editor. This works as supposed, as the previous Sec.Ed. was merged with the Admin.
However, when viewing as Admin, the submissions are not visible because the Sec. Ed. role was NOT assigned to the admin while merging.
And thus, our question(s):
- Is this the expected behavior? Meaning, does the Journal Manager have to assign the roles for those people to see the tasks?
- Shouldn't the role be applied automatically?
- Does this happen only to the Admin or does it happen to other users as well? If memory serves, the roles were assigned when merging users... but I can't say for sure, as we haven't really played until now with the merge users feature... and it has changed between versions, so...
Thank you all, and sorry for the long story...
Ramón Martins Sodoma da Fonseca
Analista em C&T
Coordenação de Tecnologias de Informação
Instituto Brasileiro de Informação em Ciência e Tecnologia - IBICT
Ministério da Ciência e Tecnologia - MCT