OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



Problems uploading abstracts

Are you responsible for making OJS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, btbell, michael, bdgregg, barbarah, asmecher

Forum rules
What to do if you have a technical problem with OJS:

1. Search the forum. You can do this from the Advanced Search Page or from our Google Custom Search, which will search the entire PKP site. If you are encountering an error, we especially recommend searching the forum for said error.

2. Check the FAQ to see if your question or error has already been resolved.

3. Post a question, but please, only after trying the above two solutions. If it's a workflow or usability question you should probably post to the OJS Editorial Support and Discussion subforum; if you have a development question, try the OJS Development subforum.

Problems uploading abstracts

Postby kathavd » Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:49 pm

Hi there,
I have always successfully uploaded abstracts on behalf of the authors and through the "edit metadata" function as the editor.
When I log in as the author and try to do it, it comes up with an error message. I can upload the pdf file of the article though but it leaves the abstract field blank.
When I edit the metadata as the editor it pastes the abstract in from word and from one note but when I hit save metadata nothing of the abstract is saved.
I have always done it this way, have you got any idea what could be wrong in my settings? Has the system been upgraded recently?

thanks!
Katharina
kathavd
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:28 pm

Re: Problems uploading abstracts

Postby kathavd » Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:39 pm

HI there,
have just noticed that I can get around the problem by using firefox. Please disregard the previous query. thanks!
kathavd
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:28 pm

Re: Problems uploading abstracts

Postby ramon » Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:17 am

Hello Katharina,

This type of problem shouldn't be happening.
Make sure you are using the latest stable version.
Also, make sure you are cleaning up markup after or before pasting content from all text editors (such as MS Word, OpenOffice, LibreOffice), as they generate a lot of garbage.
Be extra careful with MS Office content. It generates lots of proprietary code that is interpreted only by Internet Explorer.
This code may break the system on that browser, but not on others, but you'll still have garbage in your data.

Also, check the allowed HTML tags and attributes in ojs/config.inc.php.
If you're adding HTML, and the tags AND attributes are not listed, a special library will clean up the tags and may remove content.

_______________________________
Ramón Martins Sodoma da Fonseca
Analista em C&T
Coordenação de Tecnologias de Informação
Instituto Brasileiro de Informação em Ciência e Tecnologia - IBICT
Ministério da Ciência e Tecnologia - MCT
ramon
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 6:15 am
Location: Brasí­lia/DF - Brasil


Return to OJS Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron