OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



Automated EPAA Submission Review Reminder with kludged URL

Are you responsible for making OJS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, btbell, michael, bdgregg, barbarah, asmecher

Forum rules
What to do if you have a technical problem with OJS:

1. Search the forum. You can do this from the Advanced Search Page or from our Google Custom Search, which will search the entire PKP site. If you are encountering an error, we especially recommend searching the forum for said error.

2. Check the FAQ to see if your question or error has already been resolved.

3. Post a question, but please, only after trying the above two solutions. If it's a workflow or usability question you should probably post to the OJS Editorial Support and Discussion subforum; if you have a development question, try the OJS Development subforum.

Automated EPAA Submission Review Reminder with kludged URL

Postby Sherman » Fri Mar 24, 2006 2:21 pm

One more bit of debugging with our not-yet-live OJS 2.1 installation: the automated review reminder has a seriously kludged URL. Here's what appears in the e-mail template:

Code: Select all
Submission URL: {$submissionReviewUrl}


Here's what appeared in the e-mail:



The URLs in the manual reminder looks fine... could there be something wrong in the scheduling-task code that forgets to replace 'localhost/host/epaa/www/www' with the base, or do I need to change that in the config file?
Sherman
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:18 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Postby asmecher » Fri Mar 24, 2006 2:39 pm

Hello Sherman,

Have you looked into the base_url and base_url[journal_path_here] parameters in your config.inc.php file? You should be able to correct the problem by configuring these.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Open Journal Systems Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 7717
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Postby Sherman » Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:22 pm

asmecher wrote:Have you looked into the base_url and base_url[journal_path_here] parameters in your config.inc.php file?


Here's what I have currently:

Code: Select all
base_url = "http://www.epaa.info/english"


There is only one journal. I'll try adding

Code: Select all
base_url[EPAA] = "http://www.epaa.info/english/"


and see what happens. (I'm a little confused why everything else should work fine and then the automatic reminder URL gets kludged.)
Sherman
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:18 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Still doesn't work

Postby Sherman » Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:04 am

We're still getting a kludged URL, except with the base URL being the ISP's base with the path (and it doesn't work):

http://ISP.base.address.here/ISP/path/t ... journal/...

Help!
Sherman
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:18 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Postby asmecher » Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:19 pm

Hi Sherman,

In your config.inc.php, use "epaa" instead of "EPAA". The journal path is case sensitive. You may also need to add a line for the "index" path, e.g.
Code: Select all
base_url[index] = "http://www.epaa.info/something"
(The "index" path is used when browsing parts of OJS that aren't specifically associated with a particular journal, like site administration.)

I'd suggest that you try to get the basic URLs working (e.g. http://www.myurl.com/ojs2/index.php/epaa) before you try to get URL rewriting working (e.g. to hide the index.php part of the URL). Search for "rewrite" in the forums for more discussion of rewriting URLs.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Open Journal Systems Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 7717
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Postby Sherman » Mon Apr 03, 2006 7:16 pm

Here's what worked with my system (and you can see the details of the system for my ISP at http://www.epaa.info/english/info.php if it helps with documentation):

  1. Having entries for the base URL and the journal (with lower-case epaa--you were right about that)
  2. Eliminating the quotation marks around the URL
  3. Only having the base URL and the journal specified, but not the index (which is in the same directory as the base)


Thanks for your help with the debugging!
Sherman
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:18 pm
Location: Tampa, FL


Return to OJS Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests