OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

General inquiries about the PKP.

Moderators: jmacgreg, btbell, michael, bdgregg, vgabler, barbarah, John

Forum rules
Feel free to post general inquiries about the PKP Here. We'll also post notes of interest from time to time. You may also want to check out the PKP blog.

Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby sophonie » Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:01 am

Hi everybody,

When I try to harvest this repository http://fonds-archives.cg33.fr/EC-Repository/OAIHandler with PKP Harvester
only 3346 records are harvest. But this repository have 22741 records ...
Do you try to harvest him, perhaps its a problem with my PKP Harvester but I don't sure that is, but why not!

All thanks.
Sophonie.
sophonie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:44 am

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby asmecher » Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:14 pm

Hi Sophonie,

Is it possible that there are records in other repositories that share the same identifier? If so, then you'll get discrepancies in your record counts.

If you haven't tried using the command-line harvester (tools/harvest.php), you might also consider that; it can be more reliable for large harvests, depending on your server configuration.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9099
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby sophonie » Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:22 am

Hi asmecher,

Our administrator have made a harvest using command-line and he say me that he had harvest 3346 records.
Where can I look error message when a harvest has not finish with succes?

I don't think that some records are in an other server. So when I question the repository :
http://fonds-archives.cg33.fr/EC-Reposi ... aPrefix=ap
the xml tag resumptionToken give me 22745 records.

Best regards.
Sophonie.
sophonie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:44 am

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby asmecher » Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:40 am

Hi Sophonie,

You should see any relevant error messages on the command line, particularly when using the "verbose" option. If that doesn't provide anything helpful, let me know what the OAI URL is and I'll try harvesting it here.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9099
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby sophonie » Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:14 am

Hi asmecher,

THis is the url of the repository http://fonds-archives.cg33.fr/EC-Repository/OAIHandler

Thanks.
Best regards.
Sophonie
sophonie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:44 am

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby asmecher » Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:21 am

Hi Sophonie,

What version of the Harvester are you using?

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9099
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby sophonie » Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:21 am

Hi asmecher,

I use harvester 2.3.0

Sophonie.
sophonie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:44 am

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby asmecher » Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:31 am

Hi Sophonie,

You could try applying the patch at http://pkp.sfu.ca/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=5601; it may be that you're hitting a limit on PHP's ability to recurse. However, I can't test with your repository at the moment because it's throwing server errors.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9099
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby sophonie » Tue Jul 27, 2010 1:32 am

Hi asmecher,

I try to put this code in /plugins/harvesters/oai/OAIHarvester.inc.php but I received a PHP error message.
Actually, I don't give you that message, because we try to make an another harvest in this repository.

How did you put this code in OAIHarvester.inc.php file?

Best Regards.
Sophonie.
sophonie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:44 am

Re: Harvest a repository with PKP Harvester

Postby asmecher » Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:15 am

Hi Sophonie,

You can use the GNU "patch" tool to apply the changes. Search for "patch" either on this forum or on Google.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 9099
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron