OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



CAPTCHA problem

Are you responsible for making OJS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, btbell, michael, bdgregg, barbarah, asmecher

Forum rules
What to do if you have a technical problem with OJS:

1. Search the forum. You can do this from the Advanced Search Page or from our Google Custom Search, which will search the entire PKP site. If you are encountering an error, we especially recommend searching the forum for said error.

2. Check the FAQ to see if your question or error has already been resolved.

3. Post a question, but please, only after trying the above two solutions. If it's a workflow or usability question you should probably post to the OJS Editorial Support and Discussion subforum; if you have a development question, try the OJS Development subforum.

CAPTCHA problem

Postby snermin » Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:11 pm

I am having problems with Captcha. It used to work fine, but after 2.2.3 upgrade I can't make the letters to appear.
FreeSerif.ttf is uploaded to the root of the system and appropriate link is added to config file.
I checked my server, it has gd installed. Have a look and try to register at http://saliniana.com.ba

Anyone with an idea what to do?

Nermin
Last edited by snermin on Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
snermin
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 8:30 am

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby snermin » Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:39 pm

Anyone?
snermin
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 8:30 am

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby jmacgreg » Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:05 pm

Hi snermin,

I'm now just getting a blank page when I click the 'Register' link on your site. Are you having other problems besides the Captcha issue? Regarding Captcha -- I would double-check that the other configuration lines in config.inc.php are not only set to reasonable settings, but are also uncommented.

Cheers,
James
jmacgreg
 
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:50 am

My solution for CAPTCHA problem

Postby spatialguru » Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:29 pm

I struggled for about an hour to figure out how to enable captcha. I checked php.ini, I ran phpinfo() to confirm it was built with gd and font support and was still at a loss. There were only two things remaining, now I have success.

1 - Installing freeserif.ttf fonts. I assume you could point your config.inc.php file to another other .ttf file, but I went to ftp://ftp.gnu.org/pub/gnu/freefont/ and downloaded the latest ttf bundle and unzipped it into the folder specified in the OJS config.inc.php location setting for fonts (in captcha setting). I don't think the fonts were the main problem, but I fixed it anyway and thought you might like to see what I did.

2 - But that's not all ;-) I finally triple-checked my config file and found a duplicated [captcha] section - I had only turned on captch in the first section, so the second nullified my change :) I'm sure this is a leftover of my various patches and upgrades over the past couple years - but once I removed the second section everything worked!

Bravo and thanks for adding this excellent support!
Hope this helps!
spatialguru
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 1:23 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby snermin » Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:43 pm

After reuploading the latest font, everything works fine. TNX
snermin
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 8:30 am

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby RickMath » Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:56 pm

:D Hi

Is this a path that should exist on the main server or in the OJS path. The path in config.inc.php is font_location = /usr/share/fonts/truetype/freefont/FreeSerif.ttf

Where should this be located. Would it work if I created a path within my OJS path and pointed the setting there?

I really need help with this. I am on a shared server and can't add anythin upstream of the the OJS folder.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Rick
RickMath
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:30 am

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby RickMath » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:47 pm

I resolved this and have posted the results here viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5610

Sorry for participating in several posts for this problem. The great thing about this forum is that we work out the issues and the PKP team is understanding and helpful.

Thanks to Alec, Mike, James and whoever I have forgotten for your help.

Rick
RickMath
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:30 am

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby solty » Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:59 am

I need help... We have many bot spam users...

I am using OJS 2.1.1

I was add php code in the my config.inc.php file

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Captcha Settings ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

[captcha]

; Whether or not to enable Captcha features
captcha = on

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user registration
captcha_on_register = on

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user comments
captcha_on_comments = on

; Font location for font to use in Captcha images
font_location = "/var/www/vhosts/xxxxx.com/httpdocs/journal/fonts/FreeSerif.ttf"
--------------------------------------------------

I was created new FONTS location. but I was not see anything during the registration
http://www.xxxx.com/journal/index.php/nq/user/register

Can you share me your solution about this problem?

Where is the my problem!
Last edited by solty on Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
solty
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:47 am
Location: Turkiye, İzmir

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby asmecher » Fri Jun 11, 2010 6:02 am

Hi solty,

CAPTCHA test support wasn't added until OJS 2.2.0; version 2.1.1 is nearly 4 years old, and I'd suggest upgrading.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 7717
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby solty » Tue Jun 29, 2010 12:40 am

Ok. I was try OJS 2.2.3.0
Font location OK. All files Rw-RW-Rw
Location : /httpdocs/freefont/FreeSans.ttf
But I was not see anything during the registration...

Config.inc.php

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Captcha Settings ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

[captcha]

; Whether or not to enable Captcha features
captcha = on

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user registration
captcha_on_register = on

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user comments
captcha_on_comments = on

; Font location for font to use in Captcha images
font_location = "/usr/hosts2/domains/ilahiyatstud091/www.xxxxx.org/httpdocs/freefont/FreeSans.ttf"
Last edited by solty on Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
solty
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:47 am
Location: Turkiye, İzmir

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby solty » Thu Jul 01, 2010 6:56 am

Hi James and Alec,
I am trying 2.3 version of the OJS.
But I was not see ANNOUNCEMENTS pluings. Is there Announcements plugins in the 2.3 version?
And also I was see database error during the database import (from 2.1.1 to 2.3).

And also, I was not create our journal old (template) style in the new common.css. There are compex relationship common.css, vanilla.css and also rightsidebar.css.
Is there ay way use old style??? :-(
:-)

-------------------------------
CREATE DATABASE `neuroquantology` DEFAULT CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_general_ci;

MySQL
#1044 - Access denied for user 'neuroquantology1'@'%' to database 'neuroquantology'
------------------------
Error
SQL query:
-- Dumping data for table `announcement_types`
--
INSERT INTO `announcement_types` ( `type_id` , `journal_id` , `type_name` )
VALUES ( 1, 1, 'Journal' ) , ( 2, 1, 'General' ) ;

MySQL said: Documentation
#1054 - Unknown column 'journal_id' in 'field list'
------------------------------
http://www.ms-aktif.com/trialx/index.php/abc/index


asmecher wrote:Hi solty,

CAPTCHA test support wasn't added until OJS 2.2.0; version 2.1.1 is nearly 4 years old, and I'd suggest upgrading.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
solty
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:47 am
Location: Turkiye, İzmir

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby jmacgreg » Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:49 am

Hi Solty,

Regarding the font location -- doublecheck that the location you gave is in fact correct. You give two paths in your response: /httpdocs/freefont/FreeSans.ttf and /usr/hosts2/domains/ilahiyatstud091/www.ilahiyatstudies.org/httpdocs/freefont/FreeSans.ttf. I suspect that the latter is actually the correct path, but please again doublecheck it.

Regarding the Announcements issue: announcements actually isn't a plugin functionality, it's in the core. You can enable it in Journal Management -> Setup Step 4.4. (I would also suggest going through all setup steps again to refamiliarize yourself with the configuration options, and to see any new options.)

Regarding the css issue: IIRC, there were a number of large changes to the css from 2.1.1 to 2.2. You will likely have to spend some time reimplementing your old style. OJS 2.3 does come with an updated Vanilla theme, which you can still use.

Regarding the database error: what do you see? Is it the error that you posted to the bottom of your last post? How are you doing the upgrade?

Cheers,
James
jmacgreg
 
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:50 am

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby solty » Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:59 am

Hi James,
I was setup OJS 2.3
Upload old .../files/ and, .../public/ directory, and I was import old OJS database.

I was find many spam user account with sex URL links in the database.
last error after the import:
DB Error: Unknown column 'locale' in 'field list'

Sincerely,
solty
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:47 am
Location: Turkiye, İzmir

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby solty » Fri Jul 02, 2010 5:18 am

There are many (600!) useR like as
AAillusedut, AAillusedut AAillusedut

AAdritekCentund69, AAdritekCentund69 AAdritekCentund69

in the Home > User > Journal Management > Enrollment section.
Iwas not delete this users. Is there anyway?
solty
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:47 am
Location: Turkiye, İzmir

Re: CAPTCHA problem

Postby jmacgreg » Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:30 pm

Hi Solty,

You can use the Merge Users feature to remove those Spam users from your system. There are also instructions on doing this in batch here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5221&p=21624#p21670.

Regarding the database error: have you also tried to upgrade your database following the instructions in docs/UPGRADE? If you are upgrading from an old release of OJS, you have to also upgrade the database -- just moving it over won't work.

Cheers,
James
jmacgreg
 
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:50 am

Next

Return to OJS Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests