OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



domain change redirect messup

OJS development discussion, enhancement requests, third-party patches and plug-ins.

Moderators: jmacgreg, btbell, michael, bdgregg, barbarah, asmecher

Forum rules
Developer Resources:

Documentation: The OJS Technical Reference and the OJS API Reference are both available from the OJS Documentation page.

Git: You can access our public Git Repository here. Comprehensive Git usage instructions are available on the wiki.

Bugzilla: You can access our Bugzilla report tracker here.

Search: You can use our Google Custom Search to search across our main website, the support forum, and Bugzilla.

Questions and discussion are welcome, but if you have a workflow or usability question you should probably post to the OJS Editorial Support and Discussion subforum; if you have a technical support question, try the OJS Technical Support subforum.

domain change redirect messup

Postby downtheroad » Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:21 pm

I wanted to change the domain of my ojs site. So without altering the current dns, I pointed the new domain to the website. However, the new domain simply led to a blank page. I assumed this was due to the redirect logic (I had the 'journal redirect' activated in the journal settings). I saw no way to change the domain name for the redirect in the site settings, so I tried altering 'base_url' in the config.inc.php to the new domain url. However, this did not work. So I set base_url back to the old domain. But this did not work either. Neither domain takes one to the deisred http://www.yourdomain.com/index.php/jcpcn Is there some way I can get the new domain (best of all, both domains) to go to the journal?

dr
downtheroad
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:48 am

Re: domain change redirect messup

Postby downtheroad » Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:13 am

I tried printing a message to the browser from index.php to sense what was going on on the new domain. The message printed on both domains. However, when I edited index.php and removed the message, this did not stop the message from appearing on the site. I then used the admin function to clear the template cache. I assume this did clear the cache, as I got no message to the contrary, but the message still appears. Any thought on how to unravel this?

dr
downtheroad
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:48 am

Re: domain change redirect messup

Postby downtheroad » Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:05 pm

Solved the cache issue by deleting all the files in the cache folder on the server. However, doing so does not seem to resolve the domain issue.

dr
downtheroad
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:48 am

Re: domain change redirect messup

Postby asmecher » Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:22 pm

Hi downtheroad,

Are you using the web_cache setting in config.inc.php? If so, this will make it a whole lot more difficult to debug. I'd suggest disabling it until you've got things working as you like, then re-enabling afterwards.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 8673
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm


Return to OJS Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest