You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki

Table of content en English and Spanish

Are you responsible for making OJS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, btbell, michael, bdgregg, barbarah, asmecher

Forum rules
The Public Knowledge Project Support Forum is moving to http://forum.pkp.sfu.ca

This forum will be maintained permanently as an archived historical resource, but all new questions should be added to the new forum. Questions will no longer be monitored on this old forum after March 30, 2015.

Table of content en English and Spanish

Postby Citein » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:35 am


We have a journal which is published only in Spanish but we also have titles, abstracts and keywords in English.
The idea was to have tables of content in both languages but when we tried to edit the metadata of the articles on the english interface it changes in Spanish also. It was impossible to work with the tables of content separately, if we change the articles metadatas both tables are modified.

We have the both languages installed but we think that we are doing something wrong.

An example of what we are trying to do is:


Thank you very much for your help!

Centro de Información Técnica LATU
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:58 am

Re: Table of content en English and Spanish

Postby asmecher » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:39 am

Hi Citein,

Only certain metadata can be entered in several languages. What fields are you having trouble with? Have you tried e.g. article titles and abstracts, which should definitely be multilingual?

There are two pull-downs where you can change the language; the one you want to use when entering data in several languages is above the form. If you don't see that one, then check your journal's Language settings to make sure that forms are supported in English and Spanish.

Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
Posts: 10015
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Table of content en English and Spanish

Postby Citein » Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:47 am

Dear Alec,

Thank you very much for your answer. Our error was that we were changing the language of the page but not the language of the form.

Now it is working perfectly!


Centro de Información Técnica.
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:58 am

Return to OJS Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests