OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



Force plain text on abstract submission [solved]

Are you responsible for making OCS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, michael, John

Forum rules
What to do if you have a technical problem with OCS:

1. Search the forum. You can do this from the Advanced Search Page or from our Google Custom Search, which will search the entire PKP site. If you are encountering an error, we especially recommend searching the forum for said error.

2. Check the FAQ to see if your question or error has already been resolved. Please note that this FAQ is OJS-centric, but most issues are applicable to both platforms.

3. Post a question, but please, only after trying the above two solutions. If it's a workflow or usability question you should probably post to the OCS Conference Support and Discussion subforum; if you have a development question, try the OCS Development subforum.

Force plain text on abstract submission [solved]

Postby albertosa » Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:58 pm

Hello!

During the submission process, in the abstract field, I found that when I paste the abstract text it also adds some junk format code about font definitions, colours, margins, height... that was hidden on the MS Word document. It is very annoying!

I'm wondering if there is a way to convert or to force to plain text the input on the abstract field, since we normally don't need html formatting on this occasion.

Tkx. in advance.
Last edited by albertosa on Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
albertosa
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Guimarães/Braga - Portugal

Re: Force plain text on abstract submission

Postby jmacgreg » Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:06 pm

Hi Albertrosa,

You can disable the tinyMCE function for the abstract box by editing plugins/generic/tinymce/TinyMCEPlugin.inc.php. Find the following line, and comment it out or delete it:

Code: Select all
$fields[] = 'abstract';


You may have to do a hard refresh of the page to see the change. And of course, you'll have to track this change and account for it in future upgrades.

Cheers,
James
jmacgreg
 
Posts: 4190
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:50 am

Re: Force plain text on abstract submission

Postby albertosa » Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:13 pm

Done!
albertosa
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Guimarães/Braga - Portugal

Re: Force plain text on abstract submission - further question

Postby tshore » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:06 am

A quick question. I am going through and disabling TinyMCE for a number of fields, especially addresses, etc. where TinyMCE seems to only cause problems (ie. double spacing addresses, etc.). I was trying to decide whether or not to leave TinyMCE available for abstracts. I was thinking yes, but then I wondered if it would cause problems when I went to export the metadata for the printed program. Will the export utility strip out the HTML? Or will I be left with a big mess when it comes time for my conference organizers to prepare their programs?

Thank you.
tshore
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

Re: Force plain text on abstract submission [solved]

Postby jmacgreg » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:54 pm

Hi Trudy,

I think this will only be an issue if they add HTML themselves. You might want to try a test, though.

Cheers,
James
jmacgreg
 
Posts: 4190
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:50 am


Return to OCS Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 1 guest