OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



Captcha?

Are you responsible for making OCS work -- installing, upgrading, migrating or troubleshooting? Do you think you've found a bug? Post in this forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, michael, John

Forum rules
What to do if you have a technical problem with OCS:

1. Search the forum. You can do this from the Advanced Search Page or from our Google Custom Search, which will search the entire PKP site. If you are encountering an error, we especially recommend searching the forum for said error.

2. Check the FAQ to see if your question or error has already been resolved. Please note that this FAQ is OJS-centric, but most issues are applicable to both platforms.

3. Post a question, but please, only after trying the above two solutions. If it's a workflow or usability question you should probably post to the OCS Conference Support and Discussion subforum; if you have a development question, try the OCS Development subforum.

Captcha?

Postby tshore » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:42 pm

I don't have captcha? Here is what I have in config.inc.php:
Code: Select all
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Captcha Settings ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

[captcha]

; Whether or not to enable ReCaptcha
recaptcha = On

; Public key for reCaptcha (see http://www.google.com/recaptcha)
recaptcha_public_key = 6LfXIuUSAAAAAKsQ-tmCsYmeWzAlgmskR-B23Alh

; Private key for reCaptcha (see http://www.google.com/recaptcha)
recaptcha_private_key = 6LfXIuUSAAAAA...

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user registration / account creation
captcha_on_register = On

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user comments
captcha_on_comments = On

What else do I have to do to get captcha to appear on my user registration form?

http://www.prospectivememory.org/2014/

As a side note - I never use recaptcha on any of my websites. They're too long and often too difficult. Older people especially have a lot of trouble with them. It would be nice to have another option for OCS.
tshore
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

Re: Captcha?

Postby asmecher » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:57 pm

Hi Trudy,

Check your config.TEMPLATE.inc.php for sample configuration settings. You should use something like:
Code: Select all
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Captcha Settings ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

[captcha]

; Whether or not to enable Captcha features
captcha = on

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user registration / account creation
captcha_on_register = on

; Whether or not to use Captcha on user comments
captcha_on_comments = on

; Font location for font to use in Captcha images
font_location = /usr/share/fonts/truetype/freefont/FreeSerif.ttf


The configuration you quoted appears to be based on the git master branch, which supports recaptcha only; OCS 2.3.5 doesn't include that bit of refactoring. You'll need a PHP that supports GD and TTF (most do). You'll need to make sure that there's a font at the location specified in the config file.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team
asmecher
 
Posts: 8315
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:56 pm

Re: Captcha?

Postby tshore » Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:22 pm

That fixed it. Thank you. All I had to do was change the path slightly for the TTF file on my server:

font_location = /usr/share/fonts/freefont/FreeSerif.ttf
tshore
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Hamilton, Ontario


Return to OCS Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests