OJS OCS OMP OHS

You are viewing the PKP Support Forum | PKP Home Wiki



Javascript widget in footer

Are you a Director, Presenter, Reviewer or Conference Manager in need of help? Want to talk to us about workflow issues? This is your forum.

Moderators: jmacgreg, michael

Forum rules
This forum is meant for general questions about the usability of OCS from an everyday user's perspective: conference managers, presenters, and directors are welcome to post questions here, as are librarians and other support staff. We welcome general questions about the role of OCS and how the workflow works, as well as specific function- or user-related questions.

What to do if you have general, workflow or usability questions about OCS:

1. Read the documentation. We've written documentation to cover from OCS basics to system administration and code development, and we encourage you to read it.

2. take a look at the tutorials. We will continue to add tutorials covering OCS basics as time goes on.

3. Post a question. Questions are always welcome here, but if it's a technical question you should probably post to the OCS Technical Support subforum; if you have a development question, try the OCS Development subforum.

Javascript widget in footer

Postby mihociuli » Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:11 am

Hi,

I try to put a revolvermaps.com widget which looks like this:
Code: Select all
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://jj.revolvermaps.com/r.js"></script><script type="text/javascript">rm_f1st('0','220','true','false','000000','9tx2ig5qn25','true','ff0000');</script><noscript><applet codebase="http://rj.revolvermaps.com/j" code="core.RE" width="220" height="220" archive="g.jar"><param name="cabbase" value="g.cab" /><param name="r" value="true" /><param name="n" value="false" /><param name="i" value="9tx2ig5qn25" /><param name="m" value="0" /><param name="s" value="220" /><param name="c" value="ff0000" /><param name="v" value="true" /><param name="b" value="000000" /><param name="rfc" value="true" /></applet></noscript>


in the footer html box, but after that in the footer there is only the code, and not the needed widget.

Some ideas about the way to resolve it? The javascript does not run?

Michael
mihociuli
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:26 am

Re: Javascript widget in footer

Postby ramon » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:24 am

Hello michael,

Make sure TinyMCE is allowed Javascript code. It may be blocking it.
I would otherwise build a simple Plugin to add that code to the footer.
That kind of plugin is pretty easy to build.
ramon
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 6:15 am
Location: Brasí­lia/DF - Brasil

Re: Javascript widget in footer

Postby mihociuli » Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:50 am

Hi ramon,

Thank for the reply. The TinyMCE is enabled, but how can I check if it allow Javascript code? May be it is a stupid question but I am a newbie so please help me.

Michael
mihociuli
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:26 am

Re: Javascript widget in footer

Postby wishes » Wed May 16, 2012 5:51 am

Thank you for this info, try to use this widget on my site
wishes
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:39 am

Re: Javascript widget in footer

Postby ramon » Thu May 17, 2012 2:25 pm

Hello mihociuli,

Sorry for the late reply...
Check in ojs2/plugins/generic/tinymce
There should be a PHP file that generates the default options for TinyMCE.
To enable other TinyMCE plugins you'll have to install them in the ojs2/lib/ folder (I don't remember exactly where, but should be somewhere inside a scripts folder...)

To learn more about TinyMCE's options, check this page.
Some options won't work, others may require some tweaking and playing around.

Now, if you really need something to show on the footer in general, then you might be better off developing a simple Footer Plugin, which registers to no journal specifically, so it will be displayed when enabled for journals and always in the "portal" view... I don't have a working example here, but it shouldn't be too hard to accomplish...
ramon
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 6:15 am
Location: Brasí­lia/DF - Brasil

Re: Javascript widget in footer

Postby mihociuli » Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:31 am

I managed to do it by simply inserting <script>bla bla code</script> in the footer section, using the html insert. So it is not a problem of javascript option, which actually run in the browser and not on the server. So newbie silly question resolved by the newbie itself.
mihociuli
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:26 am


Return to OCS Conference Support and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest