3. User Management

In addition to managing the journal web site, the Journal Manager is also responsible for all of the user accounts in the system. From the Journal Manager's User Home page, you'll find the Users menu, which includes all possible user management options.

To see a list of all of your journal's registered users, select Users Enrolled in this Journal.

From here you can edit any user account, log in as them to temporarily perform any of their tasks or troubleshoot a problem, remove them from the list, or disable their account. Clicking Remove next to any user's name will unenroll them from that particular role; it won't delete their account from the system. Clicking Disable will stop users from logging in with that profile, but again it won't remove them from the site proper. See the section on Merging Users for tips on deleting an account.

3.1. Emailing Users

The ability to send an email message to several (or all) of your users at once is another useful feature available at the bottom of this page. To use this function, check each of the desired recipients (or use the Select All button), and click Email Users. This will bring up an email message that you can write in and send to everyone. Remember, the Select All button only selects all on that page. If your user list covers several pages, you will need to select all for each page (or temporarily make your list all fit on one page using the Lists option in the Journal Setup).

3.2. Enrolling Existing Users

Users already enrolled in the journal can be given additional roles, and users registered to the site with other journals (if you are working in a multi-journal OJS installation) can be enrolled with your journal. To do so, click on 'Enroll a User from this Site in this Journal' from the Journal Management Page under Users, or click on 'Enroll Existing User' from the 'Users Enrolled in this Journal' page. You will be provided with a list of all site-wide users.

This feature allows you to enrol an existing user into an additional role. For example, if Sally is currently registered as an author, but volunteers to become a reviewer, this feature will allow you to add that role to her profile. From the list of users, select Enroll an Existing User.

Figure 4.205. Enroll Existing Users

Enroll Existing Users

On the resulting page, use the dropdown menu to select the role and place a check next to the user's name. Hit Enroll Selected User to enroll that user in the selected role.

Figure 4.206. Selecting Users

Selecting Users

3.3. Show Users with No Role

Occasionally, you may end up with a user without a role. They may have been accidentally unenrolled by the Journal Manager (by using the Remove option described earlier). When this user logs in, they have no options to choose from. To find any "lost" users, use the Show Users with No Role from the Users menu. From there you can re-enroll them with the journal.

Figure 4.207. Users with No Role

Users with No Role

3.4. Creating Users

To create a new user for your journal, select Create New User. Fill in the form and press Save. You can optionally send the user a welcome email containing their username and password, which is a very useful feature.

Figure 4.208. People

People

If you have activated additional languages, you can choose a language preference for your new user as well.

3.5. Merge Users

Occasionally, a user may have created two separate accounts (using two different email addresses), or you may find yourself in a situation where a user has to be removed entirely from the system. To accomplish either, task, you must use the Merge Users feature. Select Merge Users from the Journal Management User Home page. On the resulting page, select a user you wish to merge with another user. In this example, Vincent Oldman has two accounts (voldman and voldman1). He wishes to keep the voldman account and have voldman1 merged into it. Therefore, we will select Merge User next to the voldman1 account.

Figure 4.209. Selecting the Account to Merge

Selecting the Account to Merge

Next, we'll select the voldman account (which is the keeper).

Figure 4.210. Selecting the Account to Maintain

Selecting the Account to Maintain

This action has effectively deleted the voldman1 account from the system.